h1

Best Post for Week of 3/1/2008

March 1, 2008

This week I came across the work of the architectural firm, Levitate Architects, of London:

http://www.techeblog.com/index.php/tech-gadget/pictures-stairs-bookcase-saves-space

First off, let me say that this is a very ingenious use of a staircase.  However – and these may just be differences between American design and European design – the staircase shown in the pictures looks awfully narrow, and it lacks a handrail.  I’d like to say that I could keep my footing, but if I had to use this staircase on a regular basis, I’d probably end up slipping, lunging for a handhold and pull a mountain of books down on top of myself.

Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

