h1

Battleship Grammer

December 24, 2007

My 5-year old daughter got “Battleship” for a Christmas present yesterday, and we were playing it this morning (a day early, I know).  One of our games was moving along nicely.  I had managed to sink 2 of her boats, she had just found one of mine.  We were both having fun, and smiles were a dime a dozen.

And then it happened.

I fired a shot.

It seemed an innocent-enough shot.  It was one of my random pokes in the dark, looking for boat number three.

“I-1”.

My daughter’s smile faded a bit, and she crawled around to see my board.  “Really, daddy?  You won?”

Maniacal laughter ensued.  It took me a good 30 seconds to recover, and get out a decent explanation of what I had meant originally.

The lesson here?  Watch out for those homophones.  Their there they’re hilarious at times, but they may end up sinking you.

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

