h1

Witty, yet demure

December 6, 2007

I started a new day job last week, so the writing took a hit – ok, the writing just stopped last week.  This week, though, I’ve been able to make time for the last three nights straight, getting a little more than a page each time.  It’s not much, but it is progress.

One thing that I noticed is that I think I’m to the point where I don’t feel that the day is done until I’ve written something.  THAT is definitely a good sign.  One of my ongoing fears with this experiment  is that I would let the project slide into obscurity.  But, since I’ve been seriously thinking about TheNovel or writing it for over five months now, I’m getting more and more confident that I will be able to finish it.

Of course, “finish it” may end up being a multi-year process, but we’ll see.

I still don’t have an official name for TheNovel.  I want something that conveys the central point of the story, but doesn’t actually give anything away.  Kind of how “The Fellowship of the Ring” works, but “The Return of the King” doesn’t (the latter because you know just from the cover that Aragorn will be king again, and therefore lives).

I always thought that Laurell K. Hamilton had an interesting naming scheme for her “Anita Blake – Vampire Hunter” series.  Many of the books in the series are named after night clubs that are featured in the story.  For example “Guilty Pleasures”, “The Laughing Corpse”, and my personal favorite “Lunatic Cafe”.  I remember browsing with my wife in a bookstore one day, and the title just jumped out at me.  It was quirky and fun, and therefore was enough to get my attention.  The blurb on the back of the book was enough to make me laugh out loud in the store, which was enough to get me to buy it.  I only found out later that it was the fourth in the series, which of course meant I had to go back and buy the first three.  Both my wife and I have been hooked ever since.

Unfortunately, I don’t have any vampires, werewolves, or any other preternatural bartenders in my story, so I’ll just have to be more creative on the witty-yet-demure title.

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

