h1

The toll on the characters

November 11, 2007

I’m not having a good time so far getting into a regular routine for writing.  Too many other things continue to demand my attention, and the writing keeps getting pushed off.  I did manage to do a little this evening, though.  I split Chapter 3, wrote a new page for it, and I know what the next scene should be.

I’m sure the irregularity is taking its toll on my characters.  Most of the time they just sit in the dark waiting for me to open up Microsoft Word, and continue to craft their world.  “Do you think he forgot about us?”  asks one.  “Not a chance.  I have it on authority from my buddy in OneNote that he still has a notebook there called ‘Writing’, so we’re good.  Quick!  Here he comes!  As you were, everyone!”

Tappity tappity tappity tap tap backspace backspace tap tappity tap.  Sigh.

“Sorry guys, one page is all I have in me tonight” I say with a small tinge of regret, and shut TheNovel.doc down.

“Well, it was better than nothing” says one of the characters, after I’ve left.  “Maybe we’ll get to see him again tomorrow night.”

“Yeah, maybe” says another.  “He better hurry up and get to Chapter 7.  The suspense is killing me!”

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

