h1

POV

October 2, 2007

This past week, I only managed to get a net of 4 pages written, but it was partly due to me rewriting a 3 page scene.  I had loaded up the beginning of the scene with a lot of exposition about the building that it was taking place in.  The building plays a key role in the overall story, so I felt I had to spend some quality time introducing it.

After I gotten all of this exposition down, I then tried to bring my main character, Alina, into the mix.  That’s when I got stuck.  After trying a few things, and thinking about the scene, I decided that what I really wanted to do was introduce the building through Alina’s eyes.  I had a feeling that it would make the exposition a little less dreary, and I had hoped that it would make the transition to the rest of the scene easier to write.  It only took me a couple of hours to rework it from Alina’s point of view, but it was time well spent because it catapulted me into the rest of the scene.  Since Alina was already in the scene, I didn’t need to write a transition to GET here there – I could just bring the other characters in, and let them start to interact.  My feeling and my hope were both shown to be right on.

I’m now armed with a new question for when it comes time to go into another block of exposition: “Would this block read better if I wrote it from the point of view of one of my characters, rather than the omniscient narrator?”

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

